Dr Myhill’s protocol – Update 2

Well, first off, I am happy to report that at the hospital the other day my blood pressure has come down. Usually these situations stress me out, which makes it go up, but it was around 148/85. “Keep taking the beetroot” the Sister told me. So, I shall 🙂

With regards to the combination of supplements intended to allow my body to make it’s own Glutathione…….I had a problem. I haven’t looked into it in any detail, just been listening to my body. But within a few days of taking the glutamine etc I began having ‘brain zaps’ again. These are really unpleasant sensations that can only be described as being like an electrical sound/sensation in your head. I experienced them badly when I went through the withdrawal from anti-depressants last year, and I seem to be one of the few people who can suffer from them long term, as each time I forget to take my omega oils they return. Omega oils is the ‘antidote’ to brain zaps.

BUT……..I have been taking my omega oils religiously. I originally wondered if it was because I had bought a cheaper brand, so I got the Solgar ones again, and they didnt subside.  So I can only conclude that it was one of the glutathione ingredients that had triggered them again. I have no idea why, but there you go. As I said, I haven’t looked into it. I was also getting really bad heartburn that stopped me from sleeping.

I have stopped taking the glutamine and L-Cysteine and the zaps are now only occasional and much milder. But this presented a problem, as that need for Glutathione is still there.

I stumbled across liposomal delivery, and in a very timely coincidence then got an email from ProHealth about soft melt glutathione. Aha!!  Problem solved – apart from the price. But, bizarrely, it worked out cheaper to buy from the US, than to buy from UK stockists. Even the P&P worked out cheaper. So, those are on their way. They melt in your mouth so they go straight into your blood stream, so avoiding the destruction of the digestive tract.

But you know what? I am getting VERY, VERY bored with the quantities of pills I am having to swallow. It takes a pint of liquid 3 times a day to get them all down, and about 10 mins each time to get them all out the packs.

So – a change is needed. Boredom does not a happy Moongazer make.  So, I have worked out that in 10 days I will have used up supplies of 3 different pills and I will be switching to Dr T’s Energy powder instead.

I will still have to take my Vitamin D3, omega oils, d-ribose, probiotics and beetroot pills but it will be a much easier and far less tedious process taking the powder as a drink once a day. And it may well work out cheaper in the long run. My multi vit pills only provide about a third of the levels recommended, so it will provide a much better therapeutic dose.

I bought Dr T’s book – From Fatigued to Fantastic and he combines drugs with natural therapies in a lot of instances. As you know, I am very much against using any kind of drug where there are natural solutions. For some people this might be neccessary, but it kind of put me off following his protocol above Dr Myhill’s. But, his website does have a special area that includes information for your GP. I have yet to investigate it, but it might be helpful in the ongoing campaign for help with sleeping. More about sleep next time.

So, to sum up. I haven’t felt any additional improvements since update 1, but it’s still early days yet in the grand scheme of things, and I am still significantly better than I was 3 months ago 😀

This entry was posted in Boosting My Mitochondrial Function, Fibromyalgia related stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dr Myhill’s protocol – Update 2

  1. Trisha says:

    I’m glad to hear you’re better than you were a few months ago. At least you’re moving in the right direction! I’ll be interested to see what you think of Dr. T’s vitamin powder. I felt the same way about his protocol and not wanting to take the drugs recommended. I hope those brain zaps go away completely – they sound like a horrible thing to experience!

    Like

  2. Vicky Louise says:

    I’ve been eating lots of beetroot lately, so thought the beetroot smoothies would be nice … they taste like soil! Yak

    So glad you’re making progress and getting better!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      They really do, dont they!! LOL I got one from Marks and Spencer’s one time and sat making faces at every sip – it was just vile, but I didnt want to waste it coz it was from M&S LOL
      Asda do a really nice beetroot juice which has blackcurrent and apple juice in it.
      How’s your cold? xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

