Twilight Zone Moments

So, yesterday, I had been subdued and moochy most of the day, and then late afternoon I had cause to try and get into my Facebook account, which I have been unable to get into for months and months and months.Β  Amazingly, and very strangely, I was able to log in, and I was spotted straight away by a friend from America that I used to play one of the games with. It was nice chatting to her again πŸ™‚

Aaanyway……..I discovered a folder I had never seen before in the messages section, and I glanced in……………and you could have knocked me over with a feather – seriously.

There was a message in there….from 18 months ago ……when I was still active on FB, from one of my best friends from school. OMFG!! We found each other about 14 years ago, and had spoken on the phone a couple of times, when we got burgled. All his contact info was on the computer that got stolen, and we lost touch again.

I have hunted for this dude so many times over the years, and there he was sat in a secret inbox for the last 18 months!!Β  I replied, he replied this morning, and it has seriously made my year!! My entire year!!! πŸ˜€

There was also another message in that folder that had been there a few months, and this one made me cry my eyes out. It was from an old friend of my mum’s, that I remember from when I was small. She had stumbled on my name on a picture and got in touch to see how mum and dad were.

It was awful, eye-blurringly awful to write back to her to tell her about mum passing away a year ago that very day. Her reply to me was both delighted to hear from me and so sorrowful at the same time.

Two huge blasts from the past.

I’m not sure what to make of it in one way, I mean, there is a real poignancy about it.

But I am VERY excited to chat to my old friend again, I have missed him greatly over the years, and it’s given me a real, much needed lift πŸ˜€

This entry was posted in General Chaos, Good Stuff, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Twilight Zone Moments

  1. Donna says:

    Oh so happy this worked out for you .social media can bring people together

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vicky Louise says:

    One of the only reasons I love Facebook is for getting lost contacts back. My dad’s cousin found us all on face book after not being able to visit my dad from 13 years old due to a family fall out. She’s 38 now and found us 4 years ago, we’ve all glued back together as if nothing happened and my first meeting of her after inviting me for a coffee was amazing, she’s like a sister now and I employed her husband!

    I’m glad you find old friends, it’s always a huge boost for people in a down patch! Especially of you welcome each other back into your lives with open arms πŸ™‚ really over the moon for you!

    ((((Hugs!))))

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      Thank you sweetheart πŸ™‚ It was really heart warming to have people say hi to me again. No-one questioned me on my absence either, which I was grateful for. That’s really great about your cousin πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. pedanticscouser says:

    I have subdued moochy days as well.
    18 ! months to reply, women !!!, LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so glad you’ve been able to reconnect with people from the past. πŸ™‚ Especially your friend that you’ve been missing for years.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Trisha says:

    That is very Twilight Zone-ish! It’s strange how things happen sometimes. I’m glad you were able to get a much-needed lift in spirits.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I think it’s done me more good than I expected actually. It’s like I have rediscovered the fun side to FB, whereas before it was just a source of ‘noise’ and unwelcome memories. It feels like progress πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. lydiaa1614 says:

    So happy for you. I recently got together with one of my friends from high school and it was great. I love when things like this happen! And that it changed your mood for the day! {{{{{hugs}}}}}

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It is nice to have a way to find old friends that you have accidentally lost touch with.
    I have had a few people hunt for me.
    Some I cared to talk to and others I did not.

    I am sorry that you were emotionally triggered by the person asking about your parents. You were able to let them know what happened and it is probably good that they know now, so you did good.

    What lovely crafts are you working on? I always love to see. I am going to get some meditative coloring books from Amazon. I saw many pretty ones. I love to color.

    Annie<3

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      Those colouring books are wonderful. I have a few of them and they are perfect for those times when you need a distraction from either mental or physical pain. I have amassed quite a collection of coloured pens and pencils too πŸ™‚
      Nothing new on the creative front at the moment, I have been ‘distracted’ by stuff at home and this new CFS protocol I am trying.
      (((hugs))) for you, Annie xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

