Turmeric as a painkiller

I think this is definitely worth a try. Especially if you have trouble tolerating standard painkillers, or want to keep the ones you use now for flare ups πŸ™‚

Talking Through Life

People with fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome often are unaffected by traditional painkillers. But research has shown that turmeric supplements provide as much pain relief as traditional painkillers yet actually work for fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome patients more often than not.

So I started taking some supplements a few weeks ago. The pain relieving part of turmeric is called curcumins. Turmeric in your kitchen cupboard is 5% curcumins and my supplements are 95% curcumins. I also take bioperine 10mg which comes from black pepper extract and increases absorption of turmeric by 2000% (normal absorption rate is very poor).

And I have to say it is working. It doesn’t help the worst of the pains but I’m definitely in less pain since I started on these supplements. So of course I wanted to share.

Has anyone else tried this? What did you think?

View original post

This entry was posted in General Chaos. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Turmeric as a painkiller

  1. pilch92 says:

    I missed your past post on this, but I recently started taking this supplement. My dermatologist recommended it for a skin problem a while ago an I bought it 720 mg capsules. My back had been bothering me for a couple weeks and pain meds didn’t help. I started taking 2 a day of the turmeric and the next day my back was better. When I forget to take it my back hurts. I highly recommend this for everyone- my Mom also takes it to prevent a recurrence of colon cancer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      It is always good to hear when something has helped someone πŸ™‚
      I am definitely going to try this. I found one that has bioperine combined with it. My blood tests over the last 20 years have all shown inflammation, but I cannot take anti-inflammatory drugs, so Turmeric might just help that problem too.

      Like

  2. plus+beauty27 says:

    I’ve heard of this and wouldn’t mind trying it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve heard of this, too. Oddly, when I started using more high quality black pepper on food, I seemed to feel better (so there is a real reason there – interesting)
    There’s a lot of old folk remedies that should be re-examined.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was taking this and got good results. Since I have chronic back pain I’m going to start taking it again. I prefer Mother Natures healing ingredients. You never know what side effects pills have.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      Another positive report πŸ™‚
      Chronic back pain is not fun. I have it too. My L4/L5 area.
      There is an awful lot to be said for natural remedies πŸ™‚ I am a big fan of Mother Nature too πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. New Journey says:

    I have been taking turmeric for several years for arthritis and inflammation, I also use it in my cooking and ginger…pineapple is another food that helps with inflammation, I can only do a small amount as it seems to make my throat itch….love love love turmeric….

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Trisha says:

    I bought some to help with the stubborn bout of inflammation I’m experiencing. I can’t tell if it’s helping but whatever is going on with me right now is really being persistent. Usually, a couple doses of ibuprofen will stop the inflammation but even that isn’t working this time. I’m eager to try the turmeric on one of my more ordinary flare-ups. My naturopath is recommending it to all her pain patients so I figure it’s got to be good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      (((hugs))) I can’t take ibuprofen anymore, although I will risk it if I need to boost my pain relief for something important, but that is rare, and I will usually pay for it after.
      Has a recent blood test shown you have extra inflammation?

      Like

      • Trisha says:

        I shouldn’t take ibuprofen but I do when the inflammation gets really uncomfortable. My last blood tests showed some increased inflammation, which was the kind that is damaging to the heart and vascular system. I didn’t really understand what that meant, other than it’s one more risk factor for heart disease. I know I need to work harder on my diet. Paleo would help but it’s so gross. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

        • Moongazer says:

          Eek! Turmeric might help then.
          If you don’t like meat, could you focus the paleo around fish instead?

          Like

          • Trisha says:

            I like fish…as long as someone else cooks it. Same with vegetables. I’m thinking I should look into an indoor grill. Maybe I could cook more appealing meat and veggies on one of those. The switch to Paleo is not going to be easy for me but I really want to give this protocol a try.

            Liked by 1 person

  7. lydiaa1614 says:

    I have heard of the benefits of turmeric but have not tried it to date. However, with having to go off my anti-inflammatory, I think I will check out our health food store and give it a try. I was about to say “it can’t hurt”, but that is a really bad pun for people like us LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      LOL
      Make sure you get a brand that has bioperine in it as well, or buy some bioperine separately, as the absorption rate of turmeric by itself is very low.
      I want to give it a try too, but I can’t afford it this month now, with all the other stuff I’ve got for the new protocol. So far, I haven’t heard anyone say it doesn’t help, which is really positive. Let me know how you get on with it xx

      Liked by 1 person

  8. beverley says:

    Good luck with it. It would be good to know how you go on with it in say 3 months or 6 months time and whether it is still helping – more? less?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

