A Week of Ups and Downs

But a productive week, nontheless ๐Ÿ™‚

Littlun and Son-in-Law-to-be had a week off work, so we decided to tackle the much neglected under the stairs part of the hall, and the ‘stuffed to bursting and can’t find anything’ hall cupboard. That was fun!! LOL

Suddenly the kitchen and lounge floor and table space were filled up with everything that emerged from the tardis-like cupboard, and the sorting began in earnest.

I don’t know about other people, but I am pretty hopeless with paperwork. I know the theory, I do. I know what you should do and I do have filing boxes for important stuff, but they have been at the bottom off the hall cupboard for the last couple of years. Buried and inaccessible. So I had managed to fill 1 and a half laundry basket sized wicker baskets with paperwork of all descriptions. It took me about 4 hours to go through one, shredding and ripping up as I went. What was left fits into my filing boxes now, but I still have a half basket to go through, and a large bag that I unearthed during The Big Bedroom Sort.

But it did feel good seeing the empty basket and I won’t be leaving the rest to fester for much longer.

My poor little shredder wasn’t very happy, nor were my shoulders and hands a couple of days later. In fact, that day I couldn’t keep my eyes open for most of it, and when I was awake, I could barely move

The local cat charity came yesterday and collected 3 bin bags, 2 large boxes and 4 carrier bags of stuff that we decided we didn’t want anymore and would never get around to ebaying. That made me sad – going through that stuff. Clothes I had worn for work, for instance – reminders of the life I used to have.ย  But the lady from the cat charity was very pleased with everything, and I know the money raised will go to keeping lots of kitties safe and well fed.

So, we now have total clear access to the bookcases under the stairs, that are now free from all my stuff to allow Littlun and Son-in-law-to-be to spread out their stuff more from their room. My books are all in the living room now, although I need to go through the bookcases in there to weed out my collection a bit and make room for new reads. This will also help with the major living room re-vamp that is planned for September.

The hoover, steamer and my wheelchair are now homed under the stairs, and there is space to add another shelf for better storage of stuff that needs to be homed.

I also went back to my old optician for another eye test, and I am glad I did. But I came away ยฃ250 poorer *sigh*. A routine check up at the doctors showed my blood pressure is up again, so I have the 3 month wait for the monitor, to improve my fitness and lose a bit more weight. I am 3kgs down on the last visit, which they were pleased about, but it’s not enough – I need to make a solid effort on this. Please wish me luck, and any hints, tips or advice regarding blood pressure reduction would be much appreciated. I have been slowly and gradually improving my activity levels anyway, but now I feel like I have to push myself, and I do not want to push myself into a flare up ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

It would help if it wasn’t so hot. The last week was cooler, and we had a stunning thunder storm one night, but today it’s been sweltering again, so I haven’t done much. Anyone else with asthma will understand how difficult it can be on days like this to be active, and that’s before you factor in my FM ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Still, today I have counted as a rest day. But I haven’t been idle. I shall post a pic of what I have been up to tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope everyone has had a good week xx

This entry was posted in General Chaos, House stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Week of Ups and Downs

  1. Donna says:

    Busy, busy. I think it is great you are down3 kgs. It is really really hot here too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beetroot juice. It’s foul but really lowers blood pressure

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      Aha!! Thank you ๐Ÿ˜€ I quite like beetroots, actually, although I once tried a ‘fruit juice’ with beetroot and it tasted quite ….earthy. But I shall definitely look into that. Thanks again ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • pedanticscouser says:

        Oh, I’m anyones for a beetroot, best vegetable ever to have evolved on planet earth, allways keep a stockpile in fridge until mine in garden get a bit bigger.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Moongazer says:

          They seem to be a bit of a marmite vegetable lol. I really like them roasted. But not pickled….not keen on anything pickled ick!! You can eat the leaves in salad too ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

  3. Vicky Louise says:

    I cry before trips to the options … they rob you blind! Pardon the pun … but why should glasses cost so damn much! And there’s all this fancy anti scratch, anti glare, anti kid, anti this and that that just rockets up the price! Urgh! Late night rant over haha.
    Sounds like a very busy few days you’ve had! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      I have got 2 pairs of glasses and some sunglasses for that, so it’s not too bad. But it’s still a lot of money to part with in one go. They tried to persuade me again to have vari-focals, but the best ones (with minimal distortion at the sides) were like ยฃ159 just for the lenses!!! FFS!! *faints*, so I will stick with having a handbag full of specs cases LOL
      Yis, busy, but such a relief to have my hall cupboard back again ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    • pedanticscouser says:

      if its a fairly standard prescription take it and buy glasses online somewhere like spex4less.com I paid just ยฃ25. But it allways feels awkward just asking for your prescription and walking out optitians.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Moongazer says:

        The biggest problem for me with buying from a website is choosing the frames. I can try on dozens before finding a pair that suit me and so it’s way too scary to choose online.

        Like

  4. pedanticscouser says:

    “So I had managed to fill 1 and a half laundry basket sized wicker baskets with paperwork of all descriptions”

    dear gods, thats one hell of a filing system, “you’ll find that item basket number 2, 50% down” LOL

    “My poor little shredder wasnโ€™t very happy”

    i go for burning myself, full blown destruction of all personal stuff, maybe you have got a fireplace big enough ๐Ÿ™‚

    “A routine check up at the doctors showed my blood pressure is up again, so I have the 3 month wait for the monitor”

    your lucky, nurse at our local surgery didnt appear bothered when mine was up. Garlic capsules are supposedly good for heart and BP theres other stuff but best to check with the quack

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      We don’t have a fireplace at all. Not even allowed a gas cooker o_O nor fires in the garden.
      Nah…….I don’t check with the dr anymore. They know next to nothing about nutritional supplements. They can’t even find me a non peanut based vitamin D supplement.

      Like

  5. magickmogwai says:

    You have been really busy. You should be proud of yourself.

    I came across my old shirts I wore for work that had the nursery logo on last week. It is an emotional time looking at something that is a symbol of what you used to do, used to be. But life is a series of chapters and no one knows what will come next.

    I also have asthma so I can sympathise with the heat problem and the need to do more exercise but not push too hard to cause an asthma attack or flare up in this weather. Hopefully it will stay warm but we will get a cool breeze to help us breathe easy.

    Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

