Chronic illness bingo

How many can you cross off?
I like the idea of winning biscuits, choocy and cake 😀

Talking Through Life

I found this online and thought I would share it. It reminds me of many blog posts that I’ve seen on others blogs about what not to say to people with chronic illness. I should print it, re title it ‘what not to say to people with chronic illness’ and hand it out whenever I’m out anywhere.


But maybe I should play bingo with it. If I go out and someone says one to me, I get a biscuit when I get home. If I hear two of them, I get a bar of chocolate. If I hear three or more, I get a huge piece of cake.

View original post

This entry was posted in General Chaos. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chronic illness bingo

  1. It’s either ignorance or stupidity. People just say dumb uninformed things. When I tell people that my brother Stephen has Autism some say he’s demon possessed! Huh!! Say what?! Others ask me if he is like the character in the movie Rain Man. Over time I’ve learned to ignored these remarks or distance myself from intolerant folks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      Yep, ignorance is everywhere! I think if I was you I’d have felt like throwing a few punches, even though I wouldn’t even know how! But yes, I think distancing ourselves is the only real option because some people are so close minded they’ll never be anything but insensitive.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. magickmogwai says:

    Love your idea but I’m afraid you would probably become very overweight with all the cake and biscuits ;-p
    Some of those I hear far too often to the point that they become ingrained in my psyche and I start saying them to myself. Phrases like this are poison.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      I agree. Some of the things that people say can be poisonous as well as hurtful. But you know better than they do. You live it every day – they don’t. Next time you hear something similar, just tell yourself that they just don’t know what they’re talking about (((((hugs))))
      PS – I am already a chubster and a half so a few more cakes won’t make much difference LOL

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

