A Change and a Rest

Oh, I was a little ball of pain when I woke up this morning. A definite kickback day after my run of good days. But that’s ok, and the feeling of having flu hadn’t returned – I just needed to rest.

So, rest I did, dozing on and off until gone 2pm. I must have needed it tho, because when I woke up I had a burst of enthusiasm…..I wanted to do something. However, just getting to the loo made me shout in pain, so it had to be something I could do sitting in bed. I felt like a change from loom kniting tho, so I decided on some beading instead. It probably took me longer to gather the stuff I needed than it did to make the thing LOL but here is the result of today’s endeavors.

New beaded ringA beaded ring, that I made using this tutorial from Beadifulnights on You Tube.

I really like the way Aleshia does her videos, her narrative is very good, as well as the visuals, and she is a very talented young lady.

 

 

new beaded ring side viewA side view, as the sides are pretty too πŸ™‚ This was the first time I have used Superduo beads, and I bought them after seeing this video a few weeks ago. Methinks I wants to buy lots more now LOL

 

 

 

new beaded ring back viewAnd finally a view of the ‘back’, so you can see how the ring band looks.

The camera hasn’t picked up the colours of the Superduo beads very well – the middle 4 are a kind of metallic teal colour, and the ones around those are metallic purple. But they all came from a mix called ‘Midnight’.

The seed beads are size 11 Toho, black ones on the band and ‘petrol’ finish on the top.

The bicones I used were in a tub of ‘black’, and they most definitely looked black when I was using them, but the camera has made them look like a very deep garnet colour O_o

But I am extremely pleased with how it’s turned out, and it really was easy. I like big bold rings, and can see myself making a few more of these in different colourways because it’s extremely comfortable to wear too πŸ˜€

This entry was posted in Beads and pretty things, Fibromyalgia related stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A Change and a Rest

  1. Vicky Louise says:

    That’s beautiful! I’d pay a pretty penny or two for that! Well done you! I hope the morning brings a less painful day! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. gracieed says:

    I love the ring. Good job.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. magickmogwai says:

    Love the ring. Glad you were able to do something despite being in pain. Well done you

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      Thank you πŸ˜€ I’m one of these people that knits while watching telly, and reads while waiting – I can’t just do nothing lol. This is why I have made so many blankets since I got FM – I can just knit and still have something to show for it at the end of it all.

      Liked by 1 person

      • magickmogwai says:

        I tried making a crochet blanket to pass the time and have something to show but I got really bored of doing the same thing. I have enough squares for a doll-sized blanket but still haven’t put them together. Will have to try knitting one, maybe if I vary what I’m doing I can stick at it

        Liked by 1 person

        • Moongazer says:

          I know what you mean. That’s why I have been knitting the chenille squares. They knit up quite quickly (one square per ball) and I don’t have to concentrate on stitches – it’s just stocking stitch – but as each square is finished I do feel like I have achieved something. Using a wool that is variagated helps too. I was given a massive ball of a copy of Yoyo (?) that variagated from a kind of light ginger to black and then back to ginger, and the one ball made a decent cat blanket – they love it and don’t mind that it’s just garter stitch.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Moongazer says:

          PS – you should post pics of your crochet πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Donna says:

    oh I love the ring. Glad you got some rest and I know what you mean I did way too much with the kayaking yesterday. But I enjoyed it sooo much

    Liked by 1 person

  5. pedanticscouser says:

    looks good.
    Good job i bookmarked you, as this never appeared in any notifications or email

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Darque says:

    Thank you SO much for sharing this post, your ring is gorgeous! I was inspired by the post to get out some of my beads and subscribe to Aleshia’s Beadifulnights YouTube channel. I was looking for something different to do (being bedridden, one must come up with hobbies that will work as distractions – or go mad). I haven’t worked with beads in years, but I got them out and started a necklace – I’m thinking I’ll need to order more colours & types very soon, beadwork is so relaxing & I can ignore my pain (and all that goes with it), if only for a couple of hours…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      Oh wow, that’s fab!! I am so pleased that it’s been of so much benefit to you. And you have made my day πŸ˜€ so thank you too πŸ˜€
      Aleshia is an excellent tutor, isn’t she? I haven’t watched all her videos – there are so many – but I really like her clear, yet friendly style. And she is so talented. I wish I could design like that.
      And you are absolutely right – you have to have a distraction or go mad ((((hugs)))) I hope you’ll post some pictures of your finished beadwork πŸ˜€

      Like

  7. Donna says:

    I NOMINATED YOU TO DO A LOVE/CHALLENGE WHICH YOU CAN SEE http://dadojodest.com/2015/06/01/lovehate-challenge/ COULDN’T FIND YOUR CONTACT PAGE.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

