Improvements and Something Wonderful :)

I had a brilliant day yesterday. I was out of bed by half ten, and it was midnight before I was back there again. I set up my lappy at the kitchen table, worked on my tutorial, washed 2 full sinks of dishes, did a load of laundry, stood and folded clothes from the dryer, re-did my nails, AND cooked dinner. Spag bol……yum!! During most of that I was also ripping CD’s onto my lappy.

But the birds were singing before I got to sleep this morning, so it had gone noon when I woke up, and oh boy did I hurt. I always hurt more if I am late taking my painkillers anyway, but this was also kickback from yesterday.

But I got up, I washed my hair, I have the second load of laundry in the washer, and I hung a load out on the line. That took some doing, and I had to use the handrails to physically haul myself back up the ramp to the back door.

Not that long ago, none of this would have been possible on an ordinary day, let alone a kickback day. Yes, I am hurting, my back muscles are so rigid it feels like I have grown about 3 inches o_O but my muscles, as hurty as they are, are still movable. And yesterday must be the longest I have been able to sit upright in well over a year.

This really is like when I was recovering from my surgery. Been there before, and did it, so I can do it again.

And look what my gang here got me as an early birthday present

20150510_163524_1It was a complete surprise and in the 2 weeks since I was given my gift, the honeysuckle plant you can see to the left there, has already begun to grow and entwine itself around the trellis at the top.

The honeysuckle was part of the gift as it’s one of my all time favourites.

All 4 of them chipped in, and contributed to it, from buying to collecting and putting it together. Just writing about it is making me feel all mushy LOL

I do love my family. I could not possible have asked for better daughters nor for them to have better partners. I feel very loved too 😀

What makes this even better is that the seat is the perfect height for me. I am only 5 ft 2, and most chairs leave my legs dangling – this doesn’t. And the slope of the back is perfect. It allows me to lean back in a relaxed but supported way that doesn’t aggravate my spine or my back muscles.

I like to eat outdoors, and we can move the table and the garden chairs so we can all eat outside now from time to time. I also like sitting out with my earphones in, and maybe some knitting to occupy my hands, and I can do that again now. Our old garden chairs weren’t hugely comfortable for me, and they fell part last year. My Eldest’s other half came across some chairs someone was getting rid of, and he grabbed them for us. They are designed to sink into the grass, so when they are on the path you feel like a tennis umpire sitting on one LOL, so it’s wonderful to have working garden furniture again 😀

Littlun has been working hard in the garden. You can see the corner of one of her raised veg beds in the photo, and we have onions, leeks, potatoes, carrots, courgette and squash to look forward to, as well as a thriving herb garden.

This entry was posted in Fibromyalgia related stuff, Good Stuff, House stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Improvements and Something Wonderful :)

  1. Good for you, and hurrah for the family!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Trisha says:

    What a lovely gift! And one that will just keep getting more lovely as the honeysuckle climbs over it. I love honeysuckle. It’s a favorite of mine as well.

    I, too, am having a kickback day, or days. I was busy all day Wednesday and I’ve been paying for it ever since. I really need to rest today but I have so many things that need to get done, like grocery shopping. I hope you can get the rest you need to bounce back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      Those days are awful, when there are things you just have to do and you feel like pants 😦 Try to take lots of rests in between things.
      This last couple of weeks, I have been feeling better, but it’s only this last few days that the permenant “Flu” feeling has eased. Yes, my body is sore and stiff, but I havent had that dreadful feeling of having flu. Instead of needing to lie down to rest, or being unable to stand or sit for long, (the way I have been for so many long months), my body has that bit more energy. It’s amazing me, to be honest, because it is so……unfamiliar, yet VERY familiar as in this is more like how I should be.
      I can only put it down to taking the co-enzyme Q10. It’s taken a good few weeks….but then I have had FM for 7 years, and the supplement has had to get into my body properly.
      Phase 2 starts today, with d-ribose supplements – so fingers crossed I can at least get back to where I was 15 months ago 😀

      Like

  3. I took the liberty of copying part of this post to my FB post to prove there are lots of us living with fibro and to raise awareness. Ill add the link to your blog its my friends only). Hope this is ok. Eunice

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      Hi Eunice! Where in the world are you? LOL Did you make the trip to Oz yet? You must be exhausted with all the preparations 😦 How’s the cyclone clean up progressing over there?
      Erm…….It’s ok, and I am very flattered 🙂 but I am surprised you chose this post as it’s just a day to day news one, rather than about FM specifically. Could you send me the link so I can have a peek? xx

      Like

  4. Donna says:

    Lovely gifts and so glad you are able to do more. I went for a walk this afternoon and so ready for a nap now but it was lovely with so much sun shining.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      The sunshine makes so much difference, doesn’t it 🙂 We have a duller day today, but I still have windows and the back door wide open. I love Spring weather, before it gets too hot in Summer.
      I’m looking forward to being able to take short walks eventually. Now my walks are actually pushes as I have to use the wheelchair 😦 But I can only put this improvement down to the Co Q10 (300mg). I am still sore and stiff, but I dont have that awful “flu” feeling that zaps the life out of you. It’s giving me real hope 🙂 Phase 2 starts today – d-ribose supplements, so fingers crossed 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. lydiaa1614 says:

    I am so happy for you that you have that beautiful bench from your kids. I love sitting outside to read, etc. too. I can really relate to your kick-back pain but am glad you are making strides to work through it. I am trying to do the same. Big hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      ((((hugs)))) to you too 🙂 I don’t think we can ever give up, or give in to this illness. Sometimes that takes enormous effort, sometimes it’s easier, but it helps a lot to have friends who understand 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  6. beverley says:

    I am so pleased you had a good day.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. solariahues says:

    I love a good garden seat and that’ll look fab with the honeysuckle over it 😀 I guess I’ve missed your birthday so happy belated birthday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

