Socks, Glorious Socks…….

*sings* I’m trying to make some 😀

Yep, that is what I have been doing this week! But not with needles. Nope. This is much more fun. I have been using one of THESE – a sock loom. There is a video about half way down the page, if you want to see how it ‘works’.

A few years ago I made my mum a pair of socks using a normal round loom, when she had terrible lymphodema in her legs.  I couldn’t find much info out there on just how to go about it, so I kind of made it up as I went along, adapting my meagre knowledge of short rows to create a heel. I was really surprised at how well they turned out actually.

So, when I stumbled across the sock loom, I decided to get one.  It cost almost as much as my pack of 4 round looms cost me, which is a bit shocking really. An ebay search brings up non-branded versions for as little as 2 quid but only in one size. As my family has feet bigger than the non-branded ones were suitable for, I had to buy the Prym one. However……..I am so far totally unconvinced about the sizing issue. It is in regard to width, not length as the size chart on the Prym loom indicates, and the length of the sock depends on how many rows you knit o_O PLUS – the instructions that come with the loom are dreadful. Really.

So, I hit Google and You Tube and found very little indeed on the art of using this loom to make socks. You see, it has markers on it, unlike the round looms, which could be confusing.

Sooooo, I have decided that IF this sock turns out ok, I am going to do a proper tutorial on them. Because by the time I had figured out and mastered the ‘turning of the heel’, my brain felt like it had been mangled, my fingers were sore, and my nerves were more than a little frazzled. Simpler instructions, and better pictures would have made things SO much easier. And judging by how many hits I get from Google each week on my other loom knitting post from wayyy back, I figure there are other people looking for info too.

Anyways…..here’s some pics of the most fantabulous sock in the world at this present moment in time 😀 What do you guys think?

It even has a cuff :) but doesn't really look like a sock yet.

It even has a cuff 🙂 but doesn’t really look like a sock yet.

It grows!!

It grows!!

And there - on the left - The Turning Of The Heel :)

And there – on the left – The Turning Of The Heel 🙂

 

This entry was posted in General crafts, Knitting, crochet, yarn and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Socks, Glorious Socks…….

  1. gh0stpupp3t says:

    They look more like slippers. Very nice. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lydiaa1614 says:

    Oh wow! I have wanted to get one but was not sure how good they were. I will most definitely watch your tutorial if you do one and put my order in for the loom! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      I would advise getting an unbranded one, Lydia. They might take a while to arrive if it’s coming from China, but worth the savings moneywise. Plus, the unbranded ones have a different tool than the Prym one. I was struggling with the Prym one so am using one from my round looms that has a bend at the tip. The unbranded ones have that type, which is much better 🙂
      I would do a photo tutorial. I don’t have a video camera, and I would be really scared at being filmed, even if it was just my hands 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  3. plus+beauty27 says:

    That’s so cool! I love fun socks like these! 😀 xo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Can I put an order in 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. amommasview says:

    That’s so cool 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. pattyalcala says:

    What a cool idea. I have never seen one of those before. Love the colors too. I want to invite you to have fun with The Freestyle Writing Challenge. I just finished doing it and it was so much fun. I think you would enjoy it. To find out more about it go to: http://sberrypa.com/2015/05/09/the-free-style-writing-challenge/

    Liked by 1 person

  7. suomi571 says:

    Cool! I have to give this a try!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Donna says:

    That is awesome and doing a tutorial great idea

    Liked by 1 person

  9. pedanticscouser says:

    interesting, do you take orders for size 10 LOL.

    I actually wrote computer software for an automated sock knitting machine years ago, somewhere in Leicester I think, or was it jumpers, same thing really, the circular loom spins round at high speed and the computer (a big old one) was sat on top of loom spinning round as well !, cant quite remember how it finished each one off as it would have ended up as one huge cylinder. See what a multi-talented person i am, 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      You really are, pd!! There is definitely more to you than meets the eye 🙂 But why not buy a loom for a couple of quid off ebay and have a go yourself? My brother used to make rugs. He saw some being made on a holiday to Scotland one year, and said that if a big hairy Scotsman could do it, so could he 🙂

      Like

  10. Had to follow. Love the name of your blog 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  11. playswithwords says:

    I love colorful socks! Those look great.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. These are beautiful socks. I love funny, crazy or different looking socks and hats. They are fun.
    I should make a post showing all my fancy socks.
    It is good for you to have a fun craft to do. I guess some days are easier than others due to pain, to be able to do crafting.
    Wishes for painfree days and happy crafting,
    Annie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      Thank you, Annie 🙂 I think a post like that would be fun 🙂
      Yes, some days are easier. That’s one of the nice things about loom knitting – it isn’t as hard on my arms and shoulders as normal knitting, although my carpal tunnel lets me know when enough is enough LOL

      Like

  13. vpark3 says:

    Wow love the colours! It looks complicated but also looks like your getting the hang of it well done Mrs talented xx

    Liked by 1 person

  14. beverley says:

    How clever, but i think i will stick with the 5 needles i use 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Vicky Louise says:

    Oh cool!!! My grandma tried to teach me something similar with a bobbin or a dolly or something … I can’t remember now! I really am pants when it comes to creating things with wool! Knitting needles hate me, but I’m slowly learning to crochet, I’ve made the beginnings of a very wobbly scarf! :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      It’s the same principle but more stitches. I do love crochet. I actually prefer it to knitting. It’s more forgiving, for one thing lol but a lot of people seem to find it scary for some reason. Practice makes perfect, petal, and a scarf is the best way to learn. I hope you’ll proudly show it off on your blog 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Vicky Louise says:

        Hehe I took it to my grandma (when she was feeling well enough to manage an hour awake) she couldn’t work out how on earth I’d stitched, she was confident I’d designed my own crochet lol. I hope I finish it soon so I can show her it, but it just doesn’t seem to be growing! I think one of the cats is pulling out rows from the bottom or something haha

        Liked by 1 person

        • Moongazer says:

          LOL – it can feel like that at times. See – I told you it was forgiving – it even allows you to make it up as you go along LOL
          The thing is – if you look on you tube, you’ll see different people do it in slightly different ways, as in where they pick up the wool for the next stitch, but it all turns out ok in the end. Keep practicing 😀
          I’d been wondering how your Gran was doing. Grannies are very special indeed xxx

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

