Interesting Fibromyalgia Research

I was fascinated (and relieved) in 2013 when I read about the research that had discovered an excess of arteriole venule shunts in the skin of FM patients. These are described as “tiny muscular valves” and have major implications for the blood flow around the body, and ultimately the type of fuel our cells use.

Here is an explanation of the research using a car engine analogy that makes a lot more sense than just reading the report of the research http://www.galim.org/files/pdf/Rice.pdf

Then today, I read a blog post on https://painfighter.wordpress.com/ about research that shows problems with the mitochondria in sufferers of Fibromyalgia. Mitochondria are known as the ‘powerhouses’ of our cells. They are a part of every cell in the body except red blood cells, and basically

Mitochondria are responsible for creating more than 90% of the energy needed by the body to sustain life and support growth. (from umdf.org)

Here is the relevent link from the above blog http://www.prohealth.com/fibromyalgia/library/showArticle.cfm?libid=19673&B1=EM031815F&utm_source=EM031815F&utm_medium=em&utm_campaign=FM&slvor=12383.1185768.0.1.0.527564&eid=ahura@fmaware.org

I apologise for the huge links, but my ‘hide your link behind text’ thingy doesn’t seem to be working, for some reason.

I find the two pieces of research very interesting, and even though I am not a scientist (I did study biology for one year at degree level but dropped it) it makes me wonder if these two physical ‘issues’ could be linked.

If there is a malfunction (too many and over reactive) in the arteriole venules that control blood flow and ultimately the energy our cells use, and the mitochondria in our cells provide the power, and they are malfunctioning………………well, it’s not that great a leap to connect the two, surely?

Let’s just hope the scientists make the connection. Although I understand it was a pharmaceutical company that funded the venule research – hell, the money has to come from somewhere and we need all the research we can get!!

The Co-enzyme Q10 is also an interesting feature of the article for me. As you know, I am big on finding natural solutions where possible, and whilst following my nose online the other day I came across Co-enzyme Q10 as recommended for fatigue and stress support. I used to take borage tincture, ginseng and Q10 when I was doing long hours in my job, studying and travelling a lot during the week, and found they helped. Since I have had FM I can no longer take ginseng – it makes me feel really ill, but I am definitely going to try the Q10 again.

And develop a taste for green tea. Green tea because it contains Substance P – long found to be lacking in people with FM. Although you can buy green tea capsules, which might be a better idea for me, based on my previous experiences of green tea LOL

Anyways – please go read the research. Let me know what you think.

Print it off to show your drs, because chances are they havent seen it, and also show it to anyone who disbelieves you. Fibromyalgia is NOT all in our heads. It is bloody well real! And we are finally getting the science to prove it is real.

Now we just need a blood test to diagnose it easily and a treatment that actually works would be good too 😀

This entry was posted in Fibromyalgia related stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Interesting Fibromyalgia Research

  1. lydiaa1614 says:

    Thanks, Moongazer, for this great post. I am going to get my first cup of tea for the day and read your research links. I have heard a little on this subject but have not yet read anything substantial on the topic. Today is a cold and rainy day so I am in another FM flare. Perfect timing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      ((((hugs)))) for you, Lydia. Hopefully the cold and rainy days will be a bit less frequent as we get into spring. They are guaranteed to make pain worse, aren’t they. Its almost 6pm here, and the light is starting to fade. Not that is was sunny today…..overcast and gloomy, so I hope it brightens up for the eclipse tomorrow morning.
      You have a quiet day. Hope you feel better tomorrow my friend xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • lydiaa1614 says:

        Awe, thanks sweetie. I have a couple of errands I have to do – one is getting Violet some more food and Monkey a new feather toy because the vacuum ate the last one! Since the vitamin store is in the same mall I am going to pick up some Q10. But then I am going to curl up in my chair with your articles and some more tea!

        Like

  2. merbear74 says:

    Hell yeah. I hope they hurry a bit. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  3. plus+beauty27 says:

    Thanks for sharing this! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I add honey to my green tea every morning. It improves the flavor greatly. I also found some peach and orange infused green tea that is quite tasty too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      I actually have a box of green tea with peach and mango that my son in law to be reminded me about its still in date, never been opened lol
      But now you’ve said your peach and orange one tastes ok I’m feeling much more enthusiastic about trying it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Donna says:

    Thank you for the other link i didnt have it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for the links.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you for posting these links! Have you heard of Dr. Terry Wahls? One of her earlier books is titled, “Minding My Mitochondria,” & talks about similar things & how to use diet to treat autoimmune diseases.
    P.S.- I nominated you for The Liebster Blogging Award! Follow the link to my post for instructions.
    http://msandfabulous.com/2015/03/28/a-long-time-the-liebster-award/

    XOXO
    Jess 💋

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      I hadnt – but as soon as I read your comment I googled the book 😀 Gosh, it’s an expensive one! £26 was the cheapest I could find 😦 But from looking at her website and reading a very long and detailed comment on Amazon.co.uk LOL, she uses the Paleo diet. Much of my reading and research over the last few years keeps bringing me back to the paleo way of eating. But I am allergic to nuts and seeds. The only fruit I can safely eat are the ones with stones, although apples and pears are ok coz the seeds are in the core and easily avoided, but berries are out 😦 I am also allergic to fish.
      But I will read up as much as I can – I might be able to strike a balance in some way, so thank you for the info 😀 Knowledge is empowering!
      And thank you also for the nomination. I am hugely honoured 😀 but sadly, I don’t fit the follower criteria 😦 so I wouldn’t feel right in blogging it……..even tho I am so chuffed I really want to.
      It feels like a lovely big blog-hug, so thank you, I do appreciate it xxx

      Like

      • She has a newer book out that might be cheaper– “The Wahls Protocol.” It’s more than just eating a generic “Paleo” diet. But since you’re allergic to nuts & seeds, you should Google “Autoimmune Protocol Paleo” (AIP). It’s a type of Paleo that’s specific for us chronic illness sufferers, & it eliminates all inflammatory foods– including nuts & seeds. thepaleomom.com has a great & super-informative section about it on her website. Following that diet is similar to what Terry Wahls has people do in her “Wahls Paleo Plus.”

        XOXO
        Jess 💋

        Liked by 1 person

        • Moongazer says:

          oooh, thanks for the tips and websites! That second book is cheaper – under a tenner, so it’s on my wishlist for next month. A variation that excludes nuts and seeds sounds wonderful 😀 The paleo approach makes *so* much sense to me, and as I’ve had much more success at improving depression using nutrition than I ever did with medication, it just makes even more sense. The inflammation aspect is interesting because the first time it was noticed that I had increased inflammation markers was 30 years ago, and feeling achey and run down but I think it’s always been put down to all my allergies (I am allergic to so many things, it’s ridiculous).
          If I do this, I am going to miss chocolate tho 😦 LOL

          Like

Leave a Reply

