Double Chocolate Guinness Birthday Brownies, 15p

These sound yummy 🙂

JACK MONROE

image

Firstly, for the budget-conscious among you raising eyebrows at the use of a bottle of the authentic black stuff in a batch of brownies, fear not, for this recipe makes 24 of the little tinkers, and uses a little over half a can at that, so you could stretch to 40ish from a single can if you’ve a crowd to feed. If that doesn’t satisfy you, well, most supermarkets sell an own brand value range can of bitter at around £1 for 4x440ml cans, indeed, I recommend it for my sausage casserole recipe and a few others besides. But, tomorrow being both my birthday and St Patrick’s Day, for me, tonight, it’s got to be the real thing. I’m fussy about very little when it comes to ingredients in cooking, but Guinness makes my non-negotiable list, and I hope for that you, dear readers, will note my half Irish blood…

View original post 864 more words

This entry was posted in General Chaos. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Double Chocolate Guinness Birthday Brownies, 15p

  1. Happy Birthday and Happy St. Patrick’s Day!! Here in New York there will be a big parade. I’ll be at work so I don’t know if I’ll get a chance to see but I have had the opportunity to watch the marchers from my workplace in previous years and they made me feel so joyful! I was waving like an over zealous leprechaun! LOL!! Guess everyone is a little bit Irish on March 17th!!

    I remember when I was young my parents used to drink Guinness Stout. Was not for me then or now so I can’t imagine Guinness as an ingredient in brownies however maybe it will turn out great. Let me know. I do enjoy brownies minus the nuts. Can’t stand nuts inside other foods except candy bars but that is the quirkiness in me! LOL!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      I am allergic to nuts, so any recipe without them is worth a try 🙂
      I agree Guiness is an unusual ingredient, but I bet it adds an extra ‘dimension’. I just need to persuade my daughter to make them – she is now the chief cake maker in the family.
      It’s not actually my birthday tomorrow, but the original blogger – A Girl Named Jack’s birthday 🙂

      Like

  2. lydiaa1614 says:

    Must try this! As for the Guiness, yes a lot of different “liquids” add a different flavour dimension to chocolate. I use espresso in my signature chocolate cake recipe – you don’t taste it as coffee, just a rich chocolate flavour. It is one of my most popular cakes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

