One of The Brightest and Best Left the World Yesterday

Sir Terry Pratchett.

I have been a fan of his since about 1990 and have read all but a handful of his books – some of the ones he wrote for children. He was not only a storyteller of amazingly creative characters, sharply witty and deeply intelligent, he was also a thoroughly decent man.

I was so sad when he announced several years ago that he had been diagnosed with a rare form of early onset dementia. My own wonderful dad had spent his last few years lost to this. It’s a terribly cruel disease. It takes your loved one from you while they are still there. They pass through phases of knowing they aren’t who they were and the pain in their eyes is almost more than you can stand. They know, even while they might no longer remember what parts of their body are for.

I would not wish it on my worst enemy.

Sir Terry hoped to raise awareness. It isn’t something us Brits discuss too openly, but Sir Terry has been quoted as saying people would come up to him and talk about it. They would burst into tears. He made it much easier for people to be open about it.

For such an extremely intelligent man, losing his mind, his words, himself in such a way must have been an absolute horror.

But he was brave too. He made a documentary about assisted suicide and campaigned for it to be legalised in the UK.

It is reported that he passed naturally. At home with his family and his cat asleep near him on his bed. That sounds to me like a good way to go.

I cried when I heard the news. I don’t tend to do that for famous people. But Sir Terry Pratchett was such a rare talent. Such a nice man. And the world really will be a dimmer place without him.

This entry was posted in Book reviews and other book related stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to One of The Brightest and Best Left the World Yesterday

  1. pattyalcala says:

    He sounds like a brave man. Dementia is is a thief, you are right. It is not discriminatory or fair. I am sorry that he is gone, but glad that he gave you such joy through his books.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. magickmogwai says:

    I felt like crying too! Why is it the greatest of minds are usually taken from the world too early. As my boyfriend pointed out though at least it was now while he still knew who he was and was still able to do what he loved.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      That’s true. I heard that his daughter will be continuing his work. I’m not sure how I feel about that. I feel Sir Terry was just so unique.

      Liked by 1 person

      • magickmogwai says:

        Hopefully her writing style will be similar to his and she will just add to the awesomeness of his created universes.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Moongazer says:

          I’m hoping he’s left a ton of unfinished work behind that she just has to tweak.
          I know it didn’t work for Tolkien or Virginia Andrews when others took over.
          It’s just so sad he’s gone 😦
          Do you have any favourites among his books?

          Liked by 1 person

          • magickmogwai says:

            It’s hard to pick favourites with Pratchett but I especially enjoyed the Discworld death books like mort. What about favourite characters? Mine is Samuel Vimes.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Moongazer says:

            My favourite books also have some of my favourite characters. The books with Tiffany Aching, the young witch and the Nag Macfeedle (?) – The Wee Free Men. I loved the way he created this fusion of British mythology with discworld fantasy.
            The Death books were excellent πŸ™‚
            My all time, out and out favourite though has to be Granny Weatherwax and her “headology” πŸ˜€

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Google #GNUTerryPratchett. Wonderful man and wonderful author. I have many of his books and watching going postal again right now. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

