Product Review : Soy Nail Polish Remover

From Priti NYC

This stuff is FAB!!! So fab, I just had to share it 🙂

image

Sorry about the terrible photos

I bought this because despite my success in improving the condition and length of my nails – I was having real problems with the nail on the little finger of my right hand, and I could find amazingly little info online to help me out. Basically there is a flaw on the underside of my nail that results in a vertical split. Yep – a split that runs up the nail from tip to half moon =-O  o_O
It didnt matter how short I kept it either, so after a lot of research it appeared there was only one thing to do – apply a silk wrap to stop the split and hopefully allow the flaw to grow out.
The silk wrap has worked really well, but I can no longer use regular nail polish as that would dissolve the wrap.
I bought some acetone free stuff and OMG it was awful!! It sucked every bit of moisture out my nails leaving them white and ….well….dessicated. After an emergency application of oils, they recovered but there was no way I was using that paint stripper stuff again.

A hunt online led me to soy based polish removers and of the 2 possible brands I found, this one came out best in reviews.

It removes normal nail polish faster than any other I have used and because its oily it conditions as you go. It doesn’t stink like normal nail polish remover, nor does it sting if you have any dry or rough skin. I almost always have at least one patch of eczema on my hands and it was fine. Although it did sting a deeper cut…..but then if I had got normal nail polish remover into it I would have hit the ceiling!!

This lack of stink means I dont get moaned at if I do my nails in the presence of the rest of the family lol.

It did struggle a bit with a duochrome foil type polish – but then so do normal removers. I got around this by putting a drop of the soy onto each nail and let it soak in for a couple of minutes. That is not something you would want to do with regular remover!!

The biggest drawback is the price 😦
Ok…..brace yourselves…….sit down and have a cup of sweet tea ready before you read on…..ok……

Are we braced and clutching our mugs?

*whispers*
It was £18.99 ……..for 4 fluid ozs O_o  (is that around $30?). You can get 2 oz bottles too.

But I bet its a lot cheaper in the USA as that’s where its made.

Luckily a little goes a long way. And if you just pierce the foil that covers the top of the bottle, like I did, its easy to control how much you use. Also a bonus for adding a drop to each nail for stubborn polishes.

And the thinner the cotton wool pad you use, the less remover you use.

I’m currently changing my nail polish about every 5 days so I will let you know how long the bottle lasts.

In my opinion, this is far superior to all the usual nail polish removers and I intend to keep using it. Who knows, maybe the price will fall as it gains popularity or other companies bring out their own version.

But if you can afford this, I think its well worth it.

😀

image

You should be able to read the blurb if you click to enlarge the pic

This entry was posted in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Product Review : Soy Nail Polish Remover

  1. Donna says:

    I also have a homemade one if you are ever interested in one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. plus+beauty27 says:

    Great review! This stuff sounds like it just might be worth a try though even though it may be pricier. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lydiaa1614 says:

    Thanks, Moongazer, for a very interesting review. I will have to look for it or one like it here in Canada. I think I have the same problem with my right thumb nail as you have with your pinkie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      Oooh no!! It’s not only painful but it catches on everything, doesnt it?!
      I bought a little silk wrap starter kit off ebay and just applied one layer of the resin/glue before the silk, then a final layer on top so it’s not like a full blown one that they would do at a salon. I got a mini spray of resin activator but it sets without it in a few minutes.
      I know that no form of fake nail is terribly healthy for your nails generally, but with the vertical split I couldnt find any other way to stop it splitting.
      Glad you liked the review 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. vpark3 says:

    Before my back went I was a beauty therapist and I always had great nails by doing nothing to them other that working as my hands were always in oil, and even though I no longer work in the industry my nails remained strong….until Christmas Day, I was going out for dinner and my nail polish had chipped so I removed it and went to reapply when I saw a nail buffing machine that my friend had gave me, so thought I’d give it a go before applying the varnish – BIG mistake it wrecked my nails in nano seconds, I was very light and quick on every bail and when I finished my nail plates started to burn and my nails were so thin that they bent both ways and 4 of my bails gad the vertical splits in them. I think there was a fault with the machine as the smooth buffing tool should not of done this! Any way I got a shellac manicure to protect them and used OPInail envy combined with iron tablets and my nails are nearly back to normal strength wise and only gave one nail still with a small split but think I’ll need to be careful for a while with them, so this sounds worth using being that it also conditions as my nails don’t need any more stripping! Thanks for the review x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Moongazer says:

    Ouch!! That sounds awful. I’m glad they’re almost back to normal for you now. It takes a good while tho, doesnt it as the nail grows through.
    Oil has been the real saviour of my nails, this time I reckon. I’ve ordered some pure jojoba oil as that is supposed to be the closest to our natural oils and I am almost out of the cuticle oil I was using.
    This remover is just the best thing since sliced bread 😀 Let me know what you think to it.
    Do you think I did the right thing with the silk wrap on my dodgy nail?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. vpark3 says:

    Yes definately silk wraps are a lifesaver and cause no extra damage to your nail when you remove it so will give the protection needed until it grows out. Although saying that my mum damaged her nail when she was a child and caused a vertical split which has never grown out, but then it was years later that she eventually started treating it but I think she did some permanent damage to the nail matrix so i don’t think hers will ever grow out! But then my mums is the only case I have seen like this even with all the years of doing nails so I very much doubt you will be in the same boat as her as you started treating it quickly xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Moongazer says:

    I am hoping this grows out. Its a pain in the bum when it snags when you’re washing your hair, for instance.
    Thank you for the reassurance 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. vpark3 says:

    Yes I know where your coming from there – last night after my shower it took me ten minutes to Unsnag my hair from my fingernail!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

