Do you have CHAOS – Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome?

An entirely different type of chaos to the one my blog title refers to.

I first came across this during the first year of my FM diagnosis – and loved it! It made me chuckle, and it so perfectly described the state of my house at that time.

Can anyone else relate to this?

Do you have “hotspots”? No, I’m not being rude 😛  a “hotspot” is an area in your home where everybody dumps stuff. I have 2 that drive me up the wall…..
The windowledge in the hall is one. This gets piled with mail – both unopened and opened, hair brushes (because its right next to the mirror), keys, gloves etc.
The other is the kitchen table. This is because the way my house is shaped, the kitchen is opposite the front door, so even though we have a hall with a cupboard, shoe rack etc, nobody turns left to them when they come in. Everybody heads straight to the kitchen and you go through the kitchen to get to the lounge. So coats get put on the back of kitchen chairs, bags etc get dumped on the kitchen table. It’s a “hotspot”.

Or, do you put off doing jobs in the house because you know, that for whatever reason, you won’t be able to do it “properly”? Properly being the way you used to do it perhaps, or all in one go, or as thoroughly as you would like or it needs to be done.

Or does the thought of tackling a job in the house just seem too much to even make a start on?

If you can relate to any of the above then you may well benefit from Flylady.

CHAOS, hotspots etc are from Flylady, so named because she likes fly fishing and needed a user name for a forum.

I signed up for the emails years ago  and whilst I didnt throw myself into the system completely, I did take aspects from it that proved to be useful.

The reason I am sharing it here is because if you have Fibromyalgia, CFS, chronic pain or depression, you might find some of it useful too. Not just to help you get your housework done, but to get you moving, get you more mobile, get your thoughts away from the bad stuff.

Flylady understands depression because she has been there herself, and that alone appealed to me. She wasn’t always uber cheerful as she is now. She has been there and done that.

I have also seen it described as “Cleaning for cripples” 😛 because at the core of it all is the ethos of baby steps and that you can do anything for 15 minutes (or 10 or 5)

Some of it I do find a bit……sugary…..but other people might like that aspect.  But, if like me, that’s not your style, just ignore that and take the aspects of it that you are comfortable with.

You could always sign up for the daily emails and just read them for a while because I found there were little nuggets of wisdom and ways of doing things that came along amongst other things.

I know she has helped people with chronic illness, depression and even hoarders to regain a feeling of pride in their homes. Hundreds of thousands of people.

For me, I am revisiting Flylady as a way to get myself back on track after last year. Because not only will my house benefit, my family will too AND it helps to give me a sort of focus.

It helped me in the first year of my diagnosis and then again after the surgery on my spine.

It’s a structure you can use to any degree you choose to suit you.
You don’t have to follow it to the letter, nor buy any of the products. (And trust me on this, the products came about as a result of the system, not the other way around.)

For me, I see it as a tool I can use.

I won’t be ‘shining my sink’ before bed but I will probably use the “swish and swipe” instead.
I know. It sounds cheesy, doesn’t it. But it works.

Flylady is also very overtly Christian and I know this puts some people off. But as I say, you can just use the bits that appeal to you.

Go click on the linky above. Have a wander round the website, read the baby steps and see if it can help you too.

There is a phone app that has rave reviews, but from what I can gather it’s not official.

This entry was posted in Depression, Fibromyalgia related stuff, House stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do you have CHAOS – Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome?

  1. Even letting your schedule get overloaded for a month can lead to CHAOS. I needed to break down my cleaning schedule over a week rather than attempt all the work on one day. I also needed to write it down. Sometimes just putting tasks on a list is enough to get me past the “I really don’t want to do this” stage.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Moongazer says:

    Keeping on top of everything is definitely the best way if you can 🙂

    Like

  3. Trisha says:

    I could definitely use some tips for staying on top of things. These darn cats make such a mess and I feel like all I ever do is clean up my kitchen. I’d have to say I’ve got a case of “Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

