Trapped by a Small Butterfly!

Oh yes I was!

I woke up this morning after a meagre hour and a half of sleep and noticed that my earlobe was itchy. Nowt especially astonishing about that. It happens from time to time. So my first reaction was to remove my earring – a cute silver circle – from my lobe.

So, fingers at the front holding the earring, fingers at the back clutching the small rubber butterfly…….and pull.

And ………..PULL.

Nuffink. Nope. Nada.

Eek!! o_O

My eldest was summoned. She took hold on each side and pulled.

And pulled.

And broke a nail.

It’s only a tiny rubber butterfly, how on earth can it not come off???

I felt an irrational surge of panic welling up inside me.
I can’t be the only one to experience that under similar situations. Can I?
Us humans are very strange at times.

Anyway. My youngest was summoned and she had no luck either. Hmmmm……..what to do?

“We’ll have to cut the earring off mum” she says
“Not bloody likely!” Says I. “I like these earrings!”

So, the man of the house was summoned. He arrived brandishing a tiny pair of my jewellery making wire cutters that he’d borrowed. Cheeky bugger opened and closed them in a slow, sinister fashion right by my ear so it was nice and scarily loud. Then told me not to scream if it hurt *jibber*

One small snip mere millimetres from my skin while my heart thuds loudly and I am free!!

With earring still intact too 😀

The problem? Rubber goes brittle. It hardens. It had shrunk and stuck fast to the stem of the earring. He’d had to snip it off.

The moral……..renew your rubber butterflies!! Or go buy some silicone ones instead.

And to think, I only use rubber ones because the silver ones slide off!!

You didn’t think I was going to talk about an actual fluttery butterfly, did you? o_O  in January in the UK?

Noo, nothing so straightforward lol.

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trapped by a Small Butterfly!

  1. I admit you did have me going. I always called the back of earrings posts. Glad it was removed safely.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Trisha says:

    I’m glad to hear you are free! And that you don’t have a butterfly phobia. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

