*Excited* (Brilliant Beading Discovery)

Yet I feel such a numpty for being so excited about this LOL. Hopefully my fellow crafting bloggers will understand.

A few weeks ago, I posted about making this ring

image

It has an elasticated RAW beaded band, and I hunted high and low for a decent elastic to use.

image

I needed something strong and durable but fine enough to pass through size 11 seed beads a few times.

I ended up using Gossamer Floss, which I then had to divide into three to get the width I needed. Crazy, really. Especially when I know the stuff I need exists because I have 3 hand beaded elasticated rings from the fair trade ethnic shop in town, and I had looked at them closely to try and replicate how they were made.Β 

But could I find anything identical??? Nope! Not even a whiff of anything on the beading forums.

Anyhoooo…….in one of my early searches for “super fine elastic”, references to an elastic used by fishermen came up. But I couldn’t find any details for actual thicknesses, I had got the Gossamer Floss and that worked ok.

But on a whim the other day, I ordered some of this fishing elastic. It was Β£2.50 for a small reel that has 200 yds on it and free postage so I figured it was worth it just to find out.

And OMG!!!! It is bloody fantastic!!

LOOK!!!

image

At the top is Gossamer Floss, the one that seemed to be most highly recommended.

In the middle is what I used for my ring – GF divided up.

At the bottom is the fishing elastic!!!

How fine is that??

It is just as stretchy as GF, with about the same ‘rebound’. I seriously put it through its paces, stretching it as far as it will go etc and while there is a tiny weeny bit of fraying, there is no way it will get that much of a workout while making or wearing a ring.

So, I am really excited because now I can make LOTS of lovely beaded rings *bounce* πŸ˜€

I will report back on how it performs, if you like?

This entry was posted in Beads and pretty things and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to *Excited* (Brilliant Beading Discovery)

  1. Julie Church says:

    Very nice! I don’t usually like beaded rings in general, but this one is very striking, I like it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Rajalas says:

    I’m glad you posted this. I often shy away from certain projects for this exact reason.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. T J says:

    Oh wow! I nearly went for fishing products when I tried to find some fireline recently, but then found what I needed. I think fishing products may be a beaders great untapped resource.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dbp49 says:

    That’s some interesting stuff, and I’m not even a beader (is that the right term?). Maybe its the fisherman in me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dbp49 says:

    Very true. Well, if they ever read this conversation, maybe those prices will come down a little.

    Like

  6. Donna says:

    I like that one a lot. will keep on looking through your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

