An Occasional Feeling of Being Overwhelmed

But what is it really?

I mean…….is it a lingering aspect of my depression? Is it a by-product of my now hermit-like life?
Is it just a result of this year’s shite? The lasting effects of too much stress?

Is it a temporary thing that will fade with time, as my life gets back on track?

Or is it something I will have to deal with long term? (gods, I hope not!!)

I experienced it just now – a discussion with family about dinner whilst receiving two msgs on my phone in quick succession whilst in the process of logging into my bank account and my brain just froze!! I couldn’t actually do anything. And I felt a wave of head spinning hit me.
It’s a very unpleasant sensation!

It was only a few minutes later that I realised I had momentarily felt…….overwhelmed. Too much all at once.

But that was nothing really. Two msgs didnt have to be looked at that second; just because 2 people were talking at once in the discussion, I could still hear what both said. My bank balance could wait. So WTF was that head spin all about?

I’ve had one of those terribly tired days today. No energy, not a lot of pain but feeling absolutely exhausted and not able to do much because of it.

Is that why? Maybe? I don’t know.

Does anyone else ever get like that?

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to An Occasional Feeling of Being Overwhelmed

  1. Elsie G. says:

    I know I do. It comes out of no where and then leaves you still spinning, and wondering why? I think what you said about the quick succession of events and things happening all at the same time is spot on, and it is what triggers it for me – sometimes it’s all a bit much.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Moongazer says:

      You have no idea how much of a relief it is to find someone else who experiences this.
      At times it has left me quite breathless as well, and it’s a hard thing to explain to people around me (((hugs)))

      Liked by 2 people

  2. pd says:

    know the feeling, too much stress, brain overload, bit like the blue screen of death on wondows

    Liked by 2 people

  3. oceanskysky says:

    Brain overload !!! Happens to us all I think
    Ever been in a packed supermarket people every where kids shouting and running down the aisles and you can’t find what’s on the list !!!!! Deffo happens then x xx

    Liked by 2 people

  4. T J says:

    Yes! Frequently! But I have found that it happens less often as I get a handle on the last few years of “life experience” on steroids. Hang in there.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dbp49 says:

    I have to agree with the others on this one. I think everyone gets overloaded at times in this over-stressed world we have to deal with. I know for sure I do. And then that’s it, my brain just locks up and its like I’ve got a bunch of keys and I just don’t remember which is the right one, so I start trying them all one at a time. Then just like that, one of them clicks, and everything starts working again. I never complain about it, because I’ve always figured it happened to everyone, just more often to some people, or some people take a little longer to find the right key.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Moongazer says:

    That is a pretty good analogy of how it feels, actually. Thank you 🙂
    Or like when you go to take a step and where you place your foot is lower than you expect, there’s a kind of disorienation to it as well.
    But I do like the key analogy 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

