A Fibro Blog Worth Following

The link below is to a blog written by a young woman in Australia who has Fibromyalgia.

She reminds me of myself in my younger days – determined, seeking to understand all aspects of her illness and, in effect, beat it at it’s own game.

She seeks a slow, steady and above all natural route back to health, and her blog charts her daily progress and gives lots of info about the various aspects she is focusing on.

It’s a refreshing and inspiring view of FM and the battle against it. Because it truly is a battle. A battle of our will over what the illness does to us, a battle of mind over matter most days, a battle to keep hold of who we are as opposed to what the illness makes of us.

I also find this blog inspiring, not just for the approach the writer takes but because she reminds me of my younger self. A self who recognised that medication side effects were sometimes not worth the benefits and who refused even antibiotics in preference to allowing my body time to fight the infection.

The me who often upset the professionals by following my gut instincts.

The me who hasn’t completely disappeared as I recently found natural ways to treat my depression and by cutting out the meds also got rid of my daily migraine symptoms.

I know that life in general often means we opt for what the “professionals” offer us. Work and families mean we want/need to feel better fast. And we cannot be blamed for that. Nor should we feel guilty for at least trying.

But – honestly – how many of us truly feel/get better using the drugs???

If we do find a drug that helps, is it actually solving the problem?? No!!
Most of the time it simply masks or relieves a symptom and can often create other symptoms from side effects in the process.

So, I also find this blog inspiring because it is a reminder that the professionals and their pills aren’t always right. That we have to take responsibility and do all we can for our own health and wellbeing.

We need to educate ourselves about our illness because often, the drs do not have time to properly keep up with all the research. They are human too. And because it is our bodies fighting against us….no one elses.

Anyway – go have a read. Follow this young woman’s journey and her battle against FM. The link is below:

http://fibrofastforward.wordpress.com/2014/12/01/day-23/

This entry was posted in Fibromyalgia related stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Fibro Blog Worth Following

  1. Thanks for the heads up. Love her blog! So happy to connect with those who ate in our plight! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      You are welcome 🙂
      How are you doing lately?

      Like

      • I’m just barely holding it together right now. I am needing the positive support that I’m blogging. I think i am listening to what i write that’s for sure. Just stressed and overwhelmed. It happens every year. Its hard. My husband doesn’t help much. I’m a bit scared about not getting it all done. I’m definitely trusting God right now. Can’t do it on my own power. Thank goodness for His strength as i dont have it on my own right now. Sorry i know its a downer. Just need a good cry.

        Like

        • Moongazer says:

          (((((hugs))))) for you. This time of year is really hard. It’s exhausting for people who don’t have health issues! And FM really does know how to kick back!!
          Are there any corners you can cut? Any way to make things easier on yourself?
          Or maybe someone who could speak to your husband and give him a nudge to do a bit more ?
          I’m just trying to think of ways to help, you know.
          We buy way more bung-in-the-oven foods now for the meals over the holiday and frozen veg instead of prepping all that fresh veg. Time was I used to make a lot myself, but it saved me a lot of time and energy. And to be honest, no-one really cared once it was dished up – they enjoyed it anyway.
          Keep in touch and let me know how you are doing each day ((((more hugs))))

          Liked by 1 person

          • Thanks! Yes i am trying to cut as many corners as i can. I have been thinking about cutting out all the meal prep as much as possible. Im going to try to ask Dean to wrap some of John’s toys. That way i can get the stuff done i need to ship. We went out to eat on Thanksgiving. A really nice restaurant had an amazing buffet. It was a really amazing Day! It will end up okay.

            Like

          • Moongazer says:

            That’s a good idea. And it’s amazing how much something simple like wrapping presents for you can make a difference bcoz it’s not just physical, it’s reducing the stress as well 🙂
            I’m glad you had a good Thanksgiving xx

            Liked by 1 person

          • Thanks and thanks for being there. I agree. I know it is hard on my husband. He tries hard yet he really doesnt understand.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Im doing a bit better today mentally yet i fell walking yesterday and you know what that means for us. Im so stiff this morning i can hardly move. So i need to stay relaxed. Hopefully today will be better.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Moongazer says:

            Oh no! Did you hurt yourself? A fall is never a good thing. But we are definitely in the same boat today because my right foot ( which due to nerve damage never really quite goes where it’s supposed to) collided with a wooden box on my floor. My next to littlest toe is very swollen and the nail is a mess, but that jolt to my system……cor blimey do I ache today!! You must be feeling dreadful physically (((hugs)))
            But I am *very* glad you are feeling better mentally 😀 That is really good to hear!
            Be good to yourself today xx

            Liked by 1 person

          • So sorry about your foot. I know how much a foot i jury hurts. I am going to be having minor surgery on my right foot. Three toes. In grown toenails.
            I did strain my shoulder from the fall. It is almost back to normal. My knee and my wrist hurt and i am very stiff today. Hopefully it will just continue to get better.
            Put up the tree yesterday. It is always an exhausting process. Also baked cookies. So today I’m exhausted. I overdid it yesterday. I know better. Im a doer so it is very hard for me to live at a slower pace. I have to or this is what happens. Cold weather as well, not my friend.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Take care today. Hugs to you and i hope your foot gets better soon!

            Liked by 1 person

          • Moongazer says:

            Thank you. My foot is better, just the toe with the messed up nail still a bit throbby. I once read that if your toes were nearer your head you would pass out when you stubbed them!! Its probably not true, but it illustrates that pain well lol.
            I hate surgeries, so my heart goes out to you on that one. Let us know when it happens, wont you?
            It sounds like you really fell badly 😦 and you still baked and put the tree up?! You go girl! Well done!!
            Its that determination and spirit that we all need with FM. And it encourages others to know it’s possible, even if we pay for it later.
            We’re in the same boat today. I am totally wiped out today, but we had so much fun last night 🙂
            You take it easy, rest and recuperate ((((hugs))))

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Elsie G. says:

    Thankyou for this lovely recommendation, moongazer. 🙂 I do feel that if I open my mouth too much in the medical world I might get in trouble haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I took the drugs when I was first diagnosed but quickly found out how unhelpful they are. For some they be very helpful but not for me. All the meds just made me sleepy and groggy (not to mention crazy expensive). I am still trying to find ways to alleviate the pain but I am hopeful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moongazer says:

      I found Lyrica the worst one. It was as though I was drunk each night after taking it, and that lasted weeks and weeks! My daughters thought it was hilarious, mind you. LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

