Today Was a Good Day!!

It seemed like a perfectly ordinary day when I woke up this morning.

But sometimes, you just never know what’s around the corner.

The basic plan was to go into town,  hire a disability scooter for the first time and then go and get some shopping done.

That is exactly what happened. But, the day turned into so much more than that!

First of all, I bumped into an old friend 😀
I haven’t seen him for a few years, although when I reckon it up I’ve known him for about 14 years!
We recognised each other, but weren’t certain at first. But as soon as he said my name, I knew it was him!
It was really good to see him again. Email addys were exchanged and we’ll be meeting up for a good catch up! Laughs are pretty much assured, so I am looking forward to that 🙂

I got a total of 3 separate compliments on my purple hair, all from men. And a woman at a checkout enthused over my “manicure” – the starry night one.
I mean, those things alone are enough to give a girl a boost!!

But it was later on that the serious lift to my spirits came. Totally unplanned and unexpected, but very welcome!

At the office where we returned the scooter, my daughter saw a sign on the wall asking for volunteers. Next thing I know I am in the back office chatting to the volunteer co-ordinator about maybe answering the phone there a few hours a week. And he was telling me how they need someone to make phonecalls too but the phone often phases a lot of people. Not me! 😛

However, I spotted something on his volunteer timetable that made me say “Oh, I used to do that for a living” and go on to describe what I did.

His face lit up!!

Seems that is a totally new area for them, and so…..as you do….I started talking about what to think about, I asked a few pertinent questions, and next thing I knew he had written my name (in capitals LOL) in that space on his form!! 

I had to stress that this was unplanned, and how dreadful the year has been, that I am just finding my feet again and have more bad days than good still; that it would only be for a few hours a week, I’d have to see how I go.
He accepted all that, no problem. Volunteers often have difficulties.

But the fact of the matter is, he was impressed with my skill set and knowledge, and is very keen indeed to have me aboard 😀

And in just that half hour or so that I was in there, I felt like my old self again. It was blooming marvellous!!!

My brain had no problem kicking back into that familiar way of thinking and if I am unable to physically get in to do my volunteer hours one week, there is the option to do part of it online at home. Resting in bed with my laptop!! Tra la!!!!

So I signed up 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

There is another lady interested in the same thing but who hasn’t got my experience and we will have our induction together next week!

It’s strange how often this has happened to me – starting something new from scratch. My last 3 jobs, for instance, I had carte blanche to take the roles and run with them, develop them and make them my own. I loved it. Once I stopped worrying about mucking it up LOL.

And back when my eldest was a baby there was no local support group for parents of prems, so I started one. The whole thing from creating a logo and information leaflet, to finding funding – I did alone until I made contact with two other mums who were keen to help.

That led to all kinds of amazing things. Being offered a job for a National Charity, writing an article for a magazine, being in the local paper and having a video made about us for Children in Need which was on BBC1 😀

Cor blimey!! That takes me back!!

And here it is again – being there at the start of something new for this organisation.

I’ve said recently that I am done with patterns. Seems like I spoke too soon 😛

Once home, I had a house full again, we had roast chicken for dinner and I chatted to my bezzie mate 😀

Days don’t come much better than that, do they? 😀

This entry was posted in Good Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today Was a Good Day!!

  1. oceanskysky says:

    Absolutely perfect Id say I’m sooo happy for you im smiling from ear to ear
    X x I love my bezzie mate lotssss x x
    :-))))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

