Chasing Pigeons

I have wanted to go into town for days now. This usually means one of the girls pushing me in my wheelchair, which I hate, and is a hassle for them as well, as I know they would rather be off doing their own thing. And they don’t always want to be looking at the same stuff as me. But gone are the days when I could spend the day in town properly shopping. Long gone.

Thankfully, the shops I need to go to most, and the market, are very close to car parks and once in a while…..with a bit of planning and an extra top up of ibuprofen…..I can make a short trip to maybe 2 shops by myself with my stick or arm crutch.

Yesterday was such a day. Except that I didnt want to be completely on my own, so I took my youngest and her boyfriend in and they went off to walk across town while I shuffled the massive 20 or so metres to the market.
But I was especially brave yesterday – because one side of my face wasn’t working. Another day, I might not have managed it. But, I did.
I got my essentials from one stall – just by the entrance – and then spotted the make-up stall, which often has bargains. So, off I trundled and I wasn’t disappointed. I found 4 bottles of nail polish in rather gorgeous shades for only £1.99 each 🙂

And then I had to sit down for a while before attempting to make my way back to the car.

And from a bench, in the sunshine, with my bottle of water, I sat and watched the world go by for a while.

I love people watching. I can often find a celebrity look-a-like out there in the masses, but they must have all been at Morrisons. There were however a considerable number of people who must have got themselves dressed in the dark.

I’ve never been a devout follower of fashion. I’ve was a bit of a goth back in the 80’s, (altho back then it wasnt as elaborate as it is today) and haven’t so much changed as adapted as I have gotten older. I like clothes with a slight bohemian twist if at all possible. But you get used to seeing the regular annual “staples” appearing in the shops – like the colour coral and ‘nautical’ blue and white stripes for summer. Somehow – designers seem to think….oooh yes…..lets make this years shapes in these colours. Oh dear. My heart actually sinks, you know, when I see these colours. And I think – who wears them?

Well, now I know. Coral cardigans DONT go with tiger striped leggings. Sorry. Nor should a vertically striped navy and white skin tight mini skirt ever be worn by anyone but a model with no knickers on. And certainly not with gallumphing great lime green trainers on your feet. Please…..

And men……wear shorts, by all means. A lot of men have better legs than us girls anyway.  But if you are wearing black knee length shorts…. …please….I beg you……don’t wear bright blue socks pulled half way up your calves. It’s just wrong!!!

The best outfit of the day tho – had to be……..*drum roll*…….orange cowboy type hat, baggy blue flowered shorts, and bright yellow plimmies!!!!

And it was quite pleasing to have the lady next to me hooting with laughter at her own observations, yet totally unphased by chatting to a woman (me) in her late 40’s with purple hair and a walking stick who only smiled on one side 😀

And why do all small children love to chase pigeons so much? Although my eldest used to prefer chasing squirrels LOL. But then there were more of them, where we lived when she was little.

3 of us cooked dinner together. Both my daughter’s are happy and we even watched a dvd together. It was a good day.

Today…….I paid for every second of enjoyment 10 times over with a body that thrummed with pain as a result. I slept a lot as I do on these kickback days.

But no-one can take that day from me.

Up yours, Life!!!

This entry was posted in Fibromyalgia related stuff, Up Yours Life!!!! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chasing Pigeons

  1. pd says:

    “There were however a considerable number of people who must have got themselves dressed in the dark”
    Dont think i was in Lincoln yesterday 🙂
    “But if you are wearing black knee length shorts…. …please….I beg you……don’t wear bright blue socks pulled half way up your calves”
    Dont think i’ve ever done that.
    “And why do all small children love to chase pigeons so much? Although my eldest used to prefer chasing squirrels”
    good practice for later in life when they can have a rifle, all to do with the hunting instinct i guess.

    Like

Leave a Reply

